Faure : Libera me from the Requiem (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Faure_01
Fauré composed his Requiem in D minor, Op. 48, between 1887 and 1890. The choral-orchestral setting of the shortened Catholic Mass for the Dead in Latin is the best-known of his large works. Its focus is on eternal rest and consolation. Fauré's reasons for composing the work are unclear, but do not appear to have had anything to do with the death of his parents in the mid-1880s. He composed the work in the late 1880s and revised it in the 1890s, finishing it in 1900. In seven movements, the work is scored for soprano and baritone soloists, mixed choir, orchestra and organ. Fauré wrote of the work, "Everything I managed to entertain by way of religious illusion I put into my Requiem, which moreover is dominated from beginning to end by a very human feeling of faith in eternal rest. The work was premiered in its first version in 1888 in La Madeleine in Paris for a funeral mass.
We have chosen to arrange the Libera me out of the seven movements since we think this is especially suitable for performance by a brass ensemble. The trombone gets to play the baritone solo line in the opening and closing parts of the piece, we think that Faure’s typical clever style of composition makes this a very listenable to piece that we hope will be enjoyed by both audiences and performers alike.
Technically we would class this as fairly easy.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Libera me from the Requiem (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20