Cecilia Maria Barthelemon : Sonata in E 1st movement (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Barthelemon_01
Cecilia Maria Barthelemon was an English singer, composer, pianist, and organist. The daughter of two leading London musicians, the singer and composer Maria Barthelemon, and the violinist François-Hippolyte Barthélémon. Her birth date was somewhere between April 1769 and March 1770.
Like Mozart, Cecilia had an entirely musical upbringing. As a family they toured Germany, France, and Italy in 1776–77, and during this period she sang for the King of Naples and for Marie-Antoinette, queen of France. it is reported that she sat on the lap of Marie-Antoinette while her parents performed.
Her published music all dates from around 1786 to 1795, and the dedications indicate the Barthelemon family’s position as musicians to the English elite. Her debut publication was the customary volume of sonatas of which the Sonata in E is one of them.
The Barthelemon family became friends of Joseph Haydn during his stay in England in the 1790s, and he often visited the family in Vauxhall. He gave copies of his music to Cecilia, then in her early twenties, and she later inscribed it with recollections of his visits to the family home when he sang his canzonettas while accompanying himself on the piano.
We are delighted to include this in our repertoire of arrangements since as with so many female composers, the name Cecilia Barthelemon hardly rings any bells to most people. This in our view is a very fine composition that is also very suitable for use by a brass chamber group.
Technically, we would class this as of intermediate difficulty due to the chromatic runs that occur in several places throughout the movement.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Intermediate Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Sonata in E 1st movement (Arranged for Brass quintet)
This is a performance of the music in its original form, which is there as a guide to help the Brass group perform this arrangment if they decide to purchase the arrangment.
Sonata in E 1st movement (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20