JS Bach : Jesu meine freude (arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : JS Bach_04
This is the longest and most complex of the 6 motets that Bach composed. It is thought that this motet was composed for the funeral of Johanna Maria Käsin, the wife of the Leipzig postmaster in 1723. It was written for SSATB voices and this is often performed unaccompanied so this ideally transcribes for Brass quintet.
There are 11 movements in the original work, but in our arrangement, we have only included 6 of these which are
1. Jesu, meine Freude (1st stanza)
2. Es ist nun nichts (based on Romans 8:1,4)
3. Trotz dem alten Drachen (3rd stanza)
4. Ihr aber seid (fugue, based on Romans 8:9)
5. Gute Nacht (à 4, 5th stanza)
6. So nun der Geist (based on Romans 8:11)
We have left the remaining 5 movements out since they are mainly similar variations of the opening 1st stanza. For performance, we would suggest that you could either play all 6, or if performing movement 1 which is quite short, this could be played alongside 1 or more of the other movements. The opening stanza being the most recognised movement of the complete work. The Gute Nacht movement is composed for just 4 voices SSAT, but we have included the Tuba by adding an appropriate Bass line.
Technically we would class this arrangement as fairly easy. In our opinion this is a very fine work and we would hope that you would enjoy performing this.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Jesu meine freude (arranged for Brass quintet)
This is a performance of the music in its original form, which is there as a guide to help the Brass group perform this arrangment if they decide to purchase the arrangment.
Jesu meine freude (arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £25