Arne : The Morning (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Arne_01
Arne who is perhaps best known for his composition of 'Rule Britannia' has also left us with another wonderful legacy. The Morning is a diverse musical drama for soprano soloist, string orchestra, and flute in five parts. Each section has its own distinct musical character, a testament to Arne'™s theatrical experience and gift for high drama, it begins with 'The glittering sun'™. This is a very beautiful opening to the set, the solo soprano has a long semiquaver phrase that leads to the climax of this movement, and when performed in its original form, even the likes of Emma Kirkby can’t help but to break this phrase but in our arrangement, by splitting the phrase between the 2 trumpets allows for a seamless performance of this movement. The rest of the set contains ‘The lark his warbling matin sings’, ‘The village up’, ‘Oh, that on the enameld Green ‘, and ‘Go gentle gates’. Our arrangement has all but ‘The village up’ which seemed too short to include.
Technically, we would class this as fairly easy, and we would suggest that this could be performed either in its entirety or with just a selection of the set that would be ideal in a concert programme.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
The Morning (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £25