Bruckner : Locus Iste

Product Code : Bruckner_01
Locus Iste, which in English means "This place"
WAB 23, is a sacred motet composed by Anton Bruckner in 1869. The text is the Latin gradual Locus iste for the annual celebration of a church's dedication. The incipit, Locus iste a Deo factus est, translates to "This place was made by God. Bruckner set it for four unaccompanied voices, intended for the dedication of the Votivkapelle or Votive Chapel at the New Cathedral in Linz, Austria, where Bruckner had been a cathedral organist. It was the first motet that Bruckner composed in Vienna. It was published in 1886, together with three other gradual motets.

As a composition with no obvious technical difficulty, yet also a superb musical work, it has been performed by church choirs and by professionals, often to celebrate church dedications on countless occasions!
This superb arrangement has been kindly provided by Ola Ness
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly easy Arranged by : Ola Ness
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Locus Iste
Price : £20