Stanford : Beati Quorum via (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Stanford_01
Sir Charles Villiers Stanford (30 September 1852 – 29 March 1924) was an Irish composer, music teacher, and conductor. Born to a well-off and highly musical family in Dublin, Stanford was educated at the University of Cambridge before studying music in Leipzig and Berlin. He was instrumental in raising the status of the Cambridge University Musical Society, attracting international stars to perform with it.
While still an undergraduate, Stanford was appointed as the organist of Trinity College, Cambridge. In 1882, aged 29, he was one of the founding professors of the Royal College of Music, where he taught composition for the rest of his life. From 1887, he was also Professor of Music at Cambridge. As a teacher, Stanford was sceptical about modernism, and based his teaching mainly on the Romantic style as exemplified in the music of Brahms. Among his pupils were rising composers whose fame went on to surpass his own, such as Gustav Holst and Ralph Vaughan Williams. As a conductor, Stanford held posts with the Bach Choir and the Leeds triennial music festival.
Stanford composed a substantial number of concert works, including seven symphonies, but his best-remembered pieces are his choral works for church performance, chiefly composed in the Anglican tradition. He was a dedicated composer of opera, but none of his nine completed operas has endured in the general repertory. Some critics regarded Stanford, together with Hubert Parry and Alexander Mackenzie, as responsible for a renaissance in music from the British Isles. However, after his earlier success as a composer in the last two decades of the 19th century, his music was over shadowed in the 20th century by that of Edward Elgar as well as by some of his former pupils.

Beati quorum via is Latin for Blessed are those whose way. It is the third of a suite of motets for mixed unaccompanied six-part choir (SSATBB), and is a setting of the first verse of Psalm 119 in Latin. It was composed at the end of the 19th century when Stanford was a teacher at the Royal College of Music in London. This work has been compared with compositions by Bruckner, and Parry. Today this is widely performed for use in Anglican Church services. It was first published in 1905.
Technically we would class this as fairly easy.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Beati Quorum via (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20