Shostakovich : Romance from the Gadfly suite (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Shostakovich _01
The Gadfly Suite, Op. 97a, is a suite for orchestra arranged from the composition by Dmitri Shostakovich for the 1955 Soviet film The Gadfly, based on the novel of the same name by Ethel Lilian Voynich and directed by Aleksandr Fajntsimmer.

The Gadfly which in Russian is "Овод translit Ovod", is a 1955 Soviet historical drama and the film tells the story of the underground struggle of Italian patriots against the Austrian invaders for independence of their homeland. Against the background of these events is a tragic story of a man transformed from a pure heart and an enthusiastic young man to a ruthless revolutionary - the legendary and elusive Gadfly.
The Romance is the 8th Movement from the suite, and was Inspired by Massenet's "Méditation" from Thais. The beautiful solo violin melody, is known to Western TV audiences as the theme music for the Euston Films mini-series Reilly, Ace of Spies, about Russian adventurer Sidney Reilly.
We would class this technically as fairly easy.

© Copyright by Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd for the UK, British Commonwealth (excluding Canada) and Eire. This arrangement © Copyright 2017 by Boosey & Hawkes Music Publishers Ltd
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Romance from the Gadfly suite (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20