Purcell : Hear my prayer O Lord (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Purcell_01
Hear my prayer, O Lord is part of a larger piece that Purcell seemingly did not complete. Dating from 1680-82, the work is in eight parts, and sets the first verse of Psalm 102. With a despairing text and large vocal forces at his disposal, Purcell’s imagination was raised to its highest level, yet the melodic material is, on its own, quite simple. The first phrase, ‘Hear my prayer, O Lord’, uses just two melancholy notes a minor third apart. The harmony, after the opening phrase in at least six parts, is exceptional, even for Purcell, but the most extraordinary feature of this anthem is the build-up which Purcell orchestrates from the outset with an inexorable vocal crescendo, culminating in a monumental discord on the last repetition of ‘come’.
Hear my prayer, although probably only a fragment of an unfinished composition, its brevity adds to its intensity. The text is the first verse of Psalm 102: “Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my crying come unto thee.” Purcell responds to this simple phrase with remarkable passion. Throughout the anthem, the melodic range increases steadily, creating the effect of an emotional crescendo literally illustrating the text.
We have included this short but very “Purcellian” addition to our library since we believe if no one else is prepared to do this, then we should.
Technically we would class this as fairly easy
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Hear my prayer O Lord (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20