Mozart : Symphony No.29 1st movement (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Mozart_05
The Symphony No. 29 in A major, K. 201/186a, was completed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart on 6 April 1774. It is, along with Symphony No. 25, one of his better known early symphonies .The symphony is scored for 2 oboes, 2 horns and strings, as was typical of early-period Mozart symphonies. K. 183 and K. 201, the symphonies written by the 18-year-old Mozart in Salzburg after returning in the fall of 1773 from a trip to Vienna with his father, are easily his finest to that time in terms of expressivity and formal mastery. His cousin Joseph Conrad Mesmer, director of the St. Stephen’s Cathedral School had great admiration for the young composer, and he offered Wolfgang admission to the school, with all expenses paid. However, one wonders what Mesmer thought the young man could be taught! The Symphony in A was completed the following April. It begins softly in the strings, with an octave drop, the theme subsequently repeated in skipping octaves as the oboes and horns join in. The second theme, introduced by the first violins, is marked by a recurrent trill.
We consider this a fantastic piece, and well suited for brass ensemble, and again we wonder why it has not been made available for a brass chamber group until now. Our arrangement has been transposed to the more brass friendly key of Eb from its original A.
This arrangement has been performed many times already and has been extremely well received by the audiences.
Technically we would class this as fairly easy.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Symphony No.29 1st movement (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £20