Mozart : Horn concerto No.3 (Arranged for Brass quintet)

Product Code : Mozart_01
Arguably the most widely played concertos for horn, the four Horn Concertos are a major part of most professional horn players' repertoire. They were written for Mozart's lifelong friend Joseph Leutgeb. The concertos (especially the fourth) were written as virtuoso vehicles that allow the soloist to show a variety of abilities on the valve less horns of Mozart's day. The Horn Concertos are characterized by an elegant and humorous dialogue between the soloist and the orchestra. Many of the autographs contain jokes aimed at the dedicatee.
The Horn Concerto No. 3 in E-flat major, (K. 447), was completed between 1784 and 1787, during the Vienna Period. The horn, in Mozart's time, was comparatively new to the orchestra, having been developed as a hunting horn. Unlike today's instrument, it was without valves, and key-changes had to be effected through the exchange of "crooks," short, curved pipes which lengthened the tube of the horn, lowering its pitch and providing different sets of harmonics. Pitch could be "trued up" by stopping the bell to one degree or another with the hand. The introduction of valves removed the awkward necessity of the crooks.
We have provided this arrangement to showcase the horn player in the ensemble. As with out other solo works, this is a totally in house arrangement without need for an additional soloist. It is in the same key as the original as with all our other solo arrangements, so it could be used with the ensemble in preparation for performance with orchestra or as an alternative to piano accompaniment.
We have provided a suggested cadenza for the soloist if they wish to use this. An appropriate cue is provided for the remainder of the ensemble in any case to help regardless of what is played for the cadenza
Technically, we would class this of intermediate difficulty since the accompaniment is largely playing string parts which never tend to be easy, and of course the solo part was never intended to be easy.
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Intermediate Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Horn concerto No.3 (Arranged for Brass quintet)
Price : £25