Mikhail Mikhailovich : Procession of the Sardar (Arranged fro Brass quintet)

Product Code : Mikhailovich_01
Mikhail Mikhailovich Ippolitov-Ivanov to give his full name was a Russian composer, conductor and teacher. He was born in 1859 at Gatchina, near St. Petersburg, where his father was a mechanic employed at the palace. He was a choirboy at the cathedral of St. Isaac, where he also had musical instruction, before entering the St. Petersburg Conservatory in 1875. In 1882, he completed his studies as a composition pupil of Rimsky-Korsakov, whose influence was to remain strong. His first appointment was to the position of director of the music academy and conductor of the orchestra in Tbilisi (Tiflis), the principal city of Georgia, where he was to spend the next seven years. This period allowed him to develop an interest in the music of the region, a reflection of the general interest taken in the music of non-Slav minorities and more exotic neighbours that was current at the time, and that was to receive overt official encouragement for other reasons after the Revolution. One of his notable pupils in Tbilisi was conductor Edouard Grikurov. On 1 May 1886, in Tbilisi, he conducted the premiere of the third and final version of Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasia. He became a professor at the Conservatory in Moscow in 1893, of which he was director from 1905 until 1924.He served as conductor for the Russian Choral Society, the Mamontov and Zimin Opera companies and, after 1925, the Bolshoi Theatre, and was known as a contributor to broadcasting and to musical journalism. His composing style had been formed in the 1880s under Rimsky-Korsakov, and to this he added a similar interest in folk-music, particularly the music of Georgia, where he returned in 1924 to spend a year reorganizing the Conservatory in Tbilisi. He died in Moscow in 1935.
He spent eleven years in Georgia absorbing the local atmosphere and music of the Caucus region, and he wrote the Suite No.1 of Caucasian Sketches shortly after moving to Moscow. This programmatic work, forged in the tradition of Russian-Orientalism, was an immediate success upon its Moscow premiere in 1895 and established the composer’s reputation internationally.
The Procession of the Sardar is the 4th and last movement of the suite and depicts military commander making his appearance regally through a parade.
We think this is ideally suited for performance by a brass ensemble, and will make a good addition to a concert programme
Technically we would class this as fairly easy
No. of Players : 5 Difficulty : Fairly Easy Arranged by : Mark Leigh
Download sample file : Click here
In most cases, this is the arrangment being played back using the Sibelius video export facility, but in some cases this is an actual performance by groups commissioned by Undiscovered Brass to actually perform the arrangment.
Procession of the Sardar (Arranged fro Brass quintet)
Price : £20